Veterans Affairs Nurse Anesthetists

AVANA CRNA of the Year Award

The AVANA CRNA of the Year award is presented to a certified registered nurse anesthetist that practices in a VA facility. The award recognizes the CRNA’s commitment to the profession of nurse anesthesia by the safe and evidence based delivery of anesthesia practice to veteran patients. The recipient of this award should demonstrate one or more of the objectives of AVANA in their practice as a CRNA.

The recipient of this award will receive a plaque designating such at the AVANA Annual Meeting.

The nominee must be:

  • A CRNA employed by the Veterans Health Administration
  • A member of AVANA
  • Current AVANA board members are not eligible

Nomination submissions should include details on one or more of the following:

  • Specific contributions to the nurse anesthesia program or to the profession
  • Details on clinical performance 
  • Presentations or educational sessions provided by nominee
  • Involvement in professional organizations
  • Examples of the incorporation of AVANA objectives in the CRNA’s practice

Submission requirements

  • CV/Resume
  • Letter of support
Submit Nomination Here